NO

Author Topic: Debugger is running in Assembler  (Read 132 times)

Offline Bilbosax

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Debugger is running in Assembler
« on: March 01, 2017, 11:40:00 PM »
I know I am going to get raked over the coals for this.  Please know that I have read the help files on debugging already, read other forum posts by others having a similar problem, but I am really stuck and am at a loss.  My C program has an error in it that I cannot identify and I need to debug it.  So I clicked on the project options, set my compiler and assembler debug information to "Full", and the linker debug information to "CodeView" since I am on a 64 bit machine/project.  I then rebuilt the project, and clicked on Go/Debug, and when it opens the debugger tab, it is all in assembly and means nothing to me.  Please help me to identify what I am doing wrong.  I am on a Windows 10 machine.  I also watched this youtube video with a slight modification because I am making a 64 bit project. But I am still stuck in debugging in Assembly code, not line by line through my regular code.  Any help appreciated.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NwDMTR406S4








Offline Bilbosax

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Debugger is running in Assembler
« Reply #1 on: March 03, 2017, 08:25:30 PM »
Noone has had this problem here?I am finding a lot of similar posts on the web, but unfortunately, the guy did not tell us how he fixed it, simply that it was fixed. I could really use some help here.  I am enjoying Pelles C a lot, but I cannot debug in it at all because it is only showing me assembly code that I do not understand.  I want to be able to debug in Pelles C so that i get a line by line debugging of the source code written. I know I must not have something set up correctly, but I have gone through the documentation and still have not found what I have set up wrong.  Please help if you have any thoughts at all on this.  Thanks

Here is a link to a similar problem:
https://cboard.cprogramming.com/c-programming/144683-debugging-pelles-c-plz-help.html
« Last Edit: March 03, 2017, 08:27:55 PM by Bilbosax »

Offline jj2007

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 432
Re: Debugger is running in Assembler
« Reply #2 on: March 04, 2017, 12:01:41 AM »
With these project settings, I see C code, not assembler, when debugging. Have you rebuilt the project after setting the options?

Offline Bilbosax

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Debugger is running in Assembler
« Reply #3 on: March 04, 2017, 01:40:47 AM »
Yes, I rebuild the project every time I make a change and save the file. Project->Rebuild

Offline TimoVJL

  • Global Moderator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1531
Re: Debugger is running in Assembler
« Reply #4 on: March 04, 2017, 08:58:49 AM »
Tools -> Options... -> Debug -> Always break in entry-point should be unchecked.

otherwise i see something like this:
Code: [Select]
_mainCRTStartup:
004010D0 push ebp
004010D1 mov ebp,esp
004010D3 push FFFFFFFF
004010D5 push 407030
004010DA push __except_handler3
...
May the source be with you

Offline Bilbosax

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Debugger is running in Assembler
« Reply #5 on: March 04, 2017, 07:59:31 PM »
You really got my hopes up with this one TimoVJL.  But I checked the debug options and "Always break on entry-point" is already unchecked :( Everything else is checked except for "just-in-time debugging" which is greyed-out. I wish I knew what a user had to do to force Pelles C to debug in Assembly, and then I would just undo it LOL

Offline TimoVJL

  • Global Moderator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1531
Re: Debugger is running in Assembler
« Reply #6 on: March 07, 2017, 10:16:23 AM »
You didn't tell us what kind of assembly you see.
Is project Working directory changed and source file not found.
What happens with breakpoints?
May the source be with you