NO

Author Topic: need help on a C program(beginner)  (Read 6179 times)

xpranav

need help on a C program(beginner)
« on: October 29, 2009, 04:37:58 AM »
i am a beginner in C and need help....have a 64-bit vista (Pelles C 64-bit).......below is a program for adding 2 nos........it is made in win64 cosole (EXE) project....

#include<stdio.h>
#include<conio.h>
    main()

{
   float x,y,z;
   clrscr();
   printf("\nEnter the value of x :");
   scanf("%f",& x);
   printf("\nEnter the value of y :");
   scanf("%f",& y);

z=x+y;

printf("\nAnswer =%f",z);
   getch();

}

Building add.obj.
C:\Users\pranav\Documents\Pelles C Projects\Samples\Standard C\Hello\add.c(3): warning #2099: Missing type specifier; assuming 'int'.
C:\Users\pranav\Documents\Pelles C Projects\Samples\Standard C\Hello\add.c(7): warning #2027: Missing prototype for 'clrscr'.
C:\Users\pranav\Documents\Pelles C Projects\Samples\Standard C\Hello\add.c(16): warning #2027: Missing prototype for 'getch'.
Done.

what is missing here............can somebody help........and what is prototype here..........is working of Pelles C different from Turbo C?...........is there some shotcut key to compile,execute etc. in Pelles C.

thank u all

Offline AlexN

• Global Moderator
    • Alex's Link Sammlung
Re: need help on a C program(beginner)
« Reply #1 on: October 29, 2009, 07:46:38 AM »
    main()

Should be:
int main()

and select in the project options: "Define compatibility names".
best regards
 Alex ;)

xpranav

« Reply #2 on: October 29, 2009, 02:47:39 PM »
thnx a lot Alex........i'm done

xpranav

« Reply #3 on: October 29, 2009, 02:50:32 PM »
thanks again Alex  ;D but can u illustrate what "missing prototype" means...........i'm just asking for my knowledge purpose

Offline Stefan Pendl

• Global Moderator
    • Homepage
« Reply #4 on: October 29, 2009, 03:18:50 PM »
but can u illustrate what "missing prototype" means

In general it means that the function or data type is not defined.