NO

Author Topic: "Copy from" option on "project modes..." dialog.  (Read 664 times)

Offline frankie

  • Global Moderator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1875
"Copy from" option on "project modes..." dialog.
« on: August 20, 2021, 11:38:51 am »
When creating a new mode, or just moving from 'Release' to 'debug', the IDE uses always a standard empty configuration.
On more complex projects this lead to tedious and error prone rewriting of all settings for compiler options, folders, libraries, etc.
It would be very effective and efficient to have the possibility to copy the whole settings from one mode to another, so you can then change only few settings.
Thank you Pelle.

Offline John Z

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 368
Re: "Copy from" option on "project modes..." dialog.
« Reply #1 on: August 20, 2021, 03:07:02 pm »
Good Idea.

As a temp workaround to avoid tedious mistakes one could create the new mode then exit the IDE and edit the ppj file directly, copy and paste from your mode of choice into the new mode.  Then restart the IDE and make only the changes needed for the new mode.  :) Not as easy as making it an intrinsic feature but might be less error prone and tedious than starting from scratch.

Yes the ppj says "don't dare edit this file"  but I've been able to .... make backup first use a UTF8 capable editor.

Alternatively I wonder if an add-in could do what you are suggesting....

John Z

Offline TimoVJL

  • Global Moderator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1950
Re: "Copy from" option on "project modes..." dialog.
« Reply #2 on: August 21, 2021, 09:02:41 pm »
Perhaps it's time to check options for making an Add-In, if it allows to do that.
I don't like mess with project file, even i have done that.

https://forum.pellesc.de/index.php?topic=4467.msg16682#msg16682
May the source be with you

Offline Pelle

  • Administrator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2164
    • http://www.smorgasbordet.com
Re: "Copy from" option on "project modes..." dialog.
« Reply #3 on: September 26, 2021, 04:48:15 pm »
Maybe. If you have a more ambitious dialog session with add/rename/delete, it could get a little confusing which mode is referred to.
/Pelle

Offline frankie

  • Global Moderator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1875
Re: "Copy from" option on "project modes..." dialog.
« Reply #4 on: September 26, 2021, 06:23:42 pm »
Maybe a simple 'duplicate' function or a 'use template' where to select the origin.
Thanks

P.S. I hope you had good vacation...  :)

Offline Pelle

  • Administrator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2164
    • http://www.smorgasbordet.com
Re: "Copy from" option on "project modes..." dialog.
« Reply #5 on: September 26, 2021, 08:24:30 pm »
Maybe a simple 'duplicate' function or a 'use template' where to select the origin.
Nothing really happens until the main dialog is accepted, so it's more of a phrasing problem (all the original modes are there to be copied from). Should be doable.

P.S. I hope you had good vacation...  :)
It worked. The weather not so much...  :(
/Pelle

Offline frankie

  • Global Moderator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1875
Re: "Copy from" option on "project modes..." dialog.
« Reply #6 on: September 26, 2021, 10:04:49 pm »
P.S. I hope you had good vacation...  :)
It worked. The weather not so much...  :(
Don't worry, if things go on this way next Christmas should be possible to have beach holydays again  ;D ;D (no, you can't ski, too sunny...)