NO

Author Topic: Newbie....  (Read 3591 times)

UFO_Hunter

Newbie....
« on: April 22, 2012, 11:08:20 AM »
Hi All,

Newbie here!

First, I'd like to say thanks to Pelles for freely offering this neato compiler and tool suite. It has a smooth feel..  And also to the forum crew for all the good answers I've been reading by y'all. 

I must say, that for a free-bie compiler and tools, it is pretty and after using Borland tools for many years, I'm a bit spoiled, and then having to go over to the caveman tools at Macro$haft, I quit programming for a long time bc of them.  Went back to hardware engineering. Am doing lots of embedded stuff in 'C' though, mostly ARM and AVR and some MSP430 stuff.  I'm looking forward to getting back to writing PC code again...and using PellesC.

I read hundreds of posts before coming here to ask newbie questions, which I'm sure that you all have heard over and over...also read the four question  'FAQ'.  I read somewhere that there is no IDE user manual, please, tell me it aint so? Though I have looked high and low.

Anyone know what all the keyboard commands do in the IDE?  Has anyone made an adhoc list somewhere? A text file?

Are the keyboard commands programmable? perhaps via a control file? My favorite keyboard code is the old WordStar control sequences which Borland more or less copied for their IDE. I'd sure like to use WordStar, it was  a truly superior interface compared to all the NotePond style interfaces out there in my opinion. 

I'd rather like to use the Pelles C IDE for awhile to see what everyone seems to think is so kewl about it?  I already changed the color and fonts, my eyes are not as good as they once were, and that party-blue background is ok if one is smoking pot (heh heh), the stoned-programmer!   

Thanks in advance,

UFO_Hunter
« Last Edit: April 22, 2012, 01:59:26 PM by Stefan Pendl »

Offline Vortex

• http://www.vortex.masmcode.com
Re: Newbie....
« Reply #1 on: April 22, 2012, 11:18:15 AM »
Hi UFO_Hunter,