NO

Author Topic: Pelles C - Help File  (Read 3440 times)

wallep

Pelles C - Help File
« on: October 20, 2012, 07:10:55 PM »
Hi Folks,

I started reading the 'Help File' today located in the menu bar under, Help--> Contents. It is also accessible in the 'Pelles C' program folder as a separate file. I am using version 7.0.

I started with the introduction and proceeded until I eventually arrived at some heavy reading that was a challenge to understand.

Then I started to skip around and found some sections that I better understood.

Question #1
Is it ok to skip around and find a 'natural' place to start (in the Help File) or do you recommend that a newbie start at the 'Introduction' and proceed reading in sequential order (i.e. page by page - section by section)?

In other words,  I don't want to develop any awkward study habits by bouncing around the Help File.

Question #2
Again please, is there is a recommended method of 'approaching' the Pelles C 'Help File' on a complete newbie basis to programming in 'C'.

I learn best by reading and engaging in the Pelles C IDE (i.e. actually coding a small beginners program). I try to keep it interesting and mind engaging, this way I won't get lost reading some sections that may be too advanced for me.

Any suggestions would be appreciated.

I am also simultaneously reading, "Teach Yourself C programming in 21 Days".

Thank you kindly
« Last Edit: October 20, 2012, 11:27:20 PM by wallep »

CommonTater

Re: Pelles C - Users Manual
« Reply #1 on: October 20, 2012, 07:52:50 PM »
I started reading the users manual. I started with the introduction and proceeded until I eventually arrived at some heavy reading that was a challenge to understand.

Then I started to skip around and found some sections that I better understood.