NO

Author Topic: Array initialization error  (Read 6361 times)

Roda

Array initialization error
« on: July 20, 2013, 02:06:32 AM »
First, I am pretty new to programming. I have less than a year of experience and that is mostly in Python. I am following a book (Programming in C, by Stephan Kochan) to  learn C. I'm typing a simple program:
Code: [Select]
#include <stdio.h>
int main (void)
{
int values[10];
int index;

for (index = 0; index < 10; ++index)
printf("values[%i] = %i\n", index, values[index]);

return 0;
}
This should show all my elements initialized to 0 in C correct? But for some odd reason values[4] is initialized an integer. If I retype this code under different projects the value of values[4], and it is always values[4] for some reason, will change to a different integer. The only way the output shows all the values of the elements of the array as 0 is if I initialize all the elements in the array to 0 first. I have tried using the debugger but it really confuses me at the moment so I thought I'd post on this forum hoping that someone would have an explanation to why this is happening.

« Last Edit: July 20, 2013, 05:52:28 AM by Bitbeisser »

Offline Bitbeisser

• Global Moderator
Re: Array initialization error
« Reply #1 on: July 20, 2013, 06:05:06 AM »
Look closely at your code again, likely you missed a line/statement when typing in the code!  ;)

In fact, none of the elements of the values[] array should be initialized to zero, they all should have completely random values, as you nowhere actually initialize the array elements with a statement like
Code: [Select]
values[index]=0;
No variable shall be assumed to have a defined value unless you explicitly assign one to it. Declaring a variable (array or otherwise) will never initialize that variable to a specific default value.

Ralf

Offline jj2007

« Reply #2 on: July 20, 2013, 07:25:05 AM »
This is for local arrays. In contrast, global arrays are initialised to zero: