General > Chit-Chat

New Pelles and C Learner

(1/2) > >>

shazam:
Hello All  :D

Introducing myself

I bought C for dummies and found Pelles C by googling (I like that Pelles is C99)

I'm new to programming and have always wanted to learn C

OK.....off to chapter 1  ;D 

CommonTater:
Welcome aboard...

C for Dummies isn't the best start you can have, but it's better than no start.  Just go through, do the exercises and play with the code a bit then move on to the next section... You'll do fine.

Also, make good use of the Pelles C helpfile... This is probably the best documented implementation of C-99 I've ever seen.  The help file is extremely well done.  (Thank you Pelle!)

shazam:
Thanks for the feedback CT  :)

I bought the Dummies book because I was hoping...well....the author would teach me as a dummy  ;D

But I see he is using gets() and puts() alot...and from what I have googled .....those are frowned upon?

Maybe I'm so new that I shouldnt worry about it right now?

Hey at least I got "Hello World!" to finally work in a console app  ;D

CommonTater:
Hello World is the standard first program for C programmers.  Even the advanced ones will write it as a quick way to test a new compiler setup.  So now that you've got that under your belt, it's on to the next section.

Yes, C4D does use gets() and puts() rather a lot.  It's not a problem really.  The frowning is because gets() is prone to overruns... fgets(dst,size,stdin) is a good replacement for gets(dst) as it has a length spec for the string.  printf() is generally considered the better replacement for puts() because puts() includes a newline sequence that is not always desirable... although I use puts a lot when troubleshooting with few or no problems.  (Look these up in the Pelles C help file for more info)