NO

Author Topic: Capture Tab data  (Read 2292 times)

Offline John Z

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 385
Capture Tab data
« on: July 07, 2021, 04:31:58 pm »
Here is a new add-in.  Hopefully a useful one.
The purpose is to be able to easily and quickly save the data from a selected IDE TAB such as 'Project', 'Find in files', 'Output', or 'Debug' in a text file under the current project directory. Text filename will always be output_yyyymmdd_hhmmss. 

Example: output_20210707_085753.txt
 
How to use:
Load and activate the Capture.dll utility

SHA256: FE1137C6A9E995AAB1D486194029E91BC0C4A055BA5E313DDBD78692AD0CAB03


Generate output from any tab mentioned above, or any tab under a Debug run (except the 'Memory' map).

To save the tab data:
CLICK once anywhere in the projects tab window that is to be saved
then invoke the add-in; click File, Save Tab data - that's it

The file will be in the project directory.

John Z

Completion message is provided in the 'output' window.

Updated 7/12/2021 version 1.2.0 (works with listviews also)
« Last Edit: July 29, 2021, 03:35:45 pm by John Z »

Offline Grincheux

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 351
  • Never be pleased, always improve
    • Arachne
Re: Capture Tab data
« Reply #1 on: July 07, 2021, 06:06:34 pm »
I have downloaded it and using it immediately because a bug that I can catch. I will use the addin for the "Debug Tab". Tha ;D nk You John.
-------------------------
Kenavo / Bye

What disturbs me the most is not dying but not knowing what I will do after.

Offline Grincheux

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 351
  • Never be pleased, always improve
    • Arachne
Re: Capture Tab data
« Reply #2 on: July 07, 2021, 06:40:25 pm »
Debug is not accessible, when debugging the Source menu does not exit. You have to put the add-in in the "Project" menu.
-------------------------
Kenavo / Bye

What disturbs me the most is not dying but not knowing what I will do after.

Offline John Z

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 385
Re: Capture Tab data
« Reply #3 on: July 07, 2021, 09:44:07 pm »
Thanks, I didn’t have anything that output to the debug tab.

After thinking a bit I decided it belongs on the FILE Menu.

New version is available on the initial post above.
 
Appreciate your help!

John Z

Updated 7/8/2021
« Last Edit: July 08, 2021, 10:33:49 am by John Z »

Offline John Z

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 385
Re: Capture Tab data
« Reply #4 on: July 08, 2021, 10:42:22 am »
Updated initial post with revised dll.

John z

Offline Grincheux

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 351
  • Never be pleased, always improve
    • Arachne
Re: Capture Tab data
« Reply #5 on: July 08, 2021, 01:07:12 pm »
For me it is much easy. I test and give you my answer. Thank You JohnZ
-------------------------
Kenavo / Bye

What disturbs me the most is not dying but not knowing what I will do after.

Offline Grincheux

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 351
  • Never be pleased, always improve
    • Arachne
Re: Capture Tab data
« Reply #6 on: July 08, 2021, 01:11:07 pm »
Fine!


Code: [Select]
Building Display.res.
Building Display.exe.
POLINK: warning: Realigned section '.idata$5' in object 'SQLite3.lib(sqlite3.dll)' (from 4 to 8 byte(s)).
POLINK: warning: Realigned section '.idata$4' in object 'SQLite3.lib(sqlite3.dll)' (from 4 to 8 byte(s)).
POLINK: warning: Realigned section '.idata$2' in object 'libgfl.lib(libgfl340.dll)' (from 4 to 1 byte(s)).
POLINK: warning: Realigned section '.idata$2' in object 'libgfle.lib(libgfle340.dll)' (from 4 to 1 byte(s)).
Writing debug information
POLINK: warning: Unrecognized version (589844) of debug symbols in object 'libgfl.lib(libgfl340.dll)'; ignored.
POLINK: warning: Unrecognized version (589844) of debug symbols in object 'libgfl.lib(libgfl340.dll)'; ignored.
POLINK: warning: Unrecognized version (589845) of debug symbols in object 'libgfle.lib(libgfle340.dll)'; ignored.
POLINK: warning: Unrecognized version (589845) of debug symbols in object 'libgfle.lib(libgfle340.dll)'; ignored.
Compacting debug information
Done.



-------------------------
Kenavo / Bye

What disturbs me the most is not dying but not knowing what I will do after.

Offline Grincheux

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 351
  • Never be pleased, always improve
    • Arachne
Re: Capture Tab data
« Reply #7 on: July 08, 2021, 01:14:36 pm »
Does not work with debug tabs.
Sorry!
-------------------------
Kenavo / Bye

What disturbs me the most is not dying but not knowing what I will do after.

Offline John Z

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 385
Re: Capture Tab data
« Reply #8 on: July 08, 2021, 01:26:39 pm »
I see what you are showing - but what you are showing is not the Debug Tab I'm referring to.  See attached.

I'll need to set up something to debug to see if something can be done.  I've never actually used the debug feature to solve anything ….

The most I've gotten into the Debug Tab is the word "Done" and the add-in saved it to a file …  :) so I'll look more at actual debugging.

John Z

Offline TimoVJL

  • Global Moderator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1955
Re: Capture Tab data
« Reply #9 on: July 08, 2021, 02:11:16 pm »
I'll look more at actual debugging.

John Z
not for assembler code, but for symbols.
Add-Ins for debugger
May the source be with you

Offline John Z

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 385
Re: Capture Tab data
« Reply #10 on: July 08, 2021, 02:11:55 pm »
So what you are looking for is a way to save the tabular data under the tabs generated when actually running the Debugger.  I understand.  Capture.dll is not capable of that, it will need a different approach.  Since it is tabular data CSV should be usable. I think something can be worked out for some of those tab Tables except for the Memory one.  Might be fairly difficult though, I also see some entries are using a treeview too. I'm not sure how to handle that right now.


John Z

Offline John Z

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 385
Re: Capture Tab data
« Reply #11 on: July 08, 2021, 02:14:21 pm »

Offline TimoVJL

  • Global Moderator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1955
Re: Capture Tab data
« Reply #12 on: July 08, 2021, 02:24:07 pm »
As those tabs are Listview, here is an old ListViewUtils code.
May the source be with you

Offline John Z

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 385
Re: Capture Tab data
« Reply #13 on: July 08, 2021, 03:54:10 pm »
As those tabs are Listview, here is an old ListViewUtils code.

Thanks Timo, I downloaded and will look at it.
In my vcardz_i utility on SourceForge I used a multicolumn listview too, and wrote code to export the table to CSV as well as ODF spreadsheet.  HOWEVER that listview did not contain trees  :( so it is simpler I'm sure.

Thanks,
John Z

Offline John Z

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 385
Re: Capture Tab data
« Reply #14 on: July 09, 2021, 03:38:48 pm »
Does not work with debug tabs.
Sorry!

Sir Grincheux, Since you are the current 'customer' for this  :) which column separator is preferred TAB or COMMA ?  In a plain text editor/viewer the columns are not always going to align because the data stored in the columns are variable lengths (see attached).  So I'm guessing the output text file will be best opened in something like Excel or LibreOffice Calc. 

I could scan each column for the longest datum and adjust others but I'm not sure that is worth the resources. I'll think about it though.

John Z