NO

Author Topic: Know a way to increase the size of the Input Buffer?  (Read 6898 times)

defrancis7

Know a way to increase the size of the Input Buffer?
« on: April 18, 2012, 05:47:32 PM »
I am a hobbiest programmer, (meaning that I program more or less for the fun of it), and am trying to learn how to program using the Windows API.  I had the local library borrow Charles Petzold's "Windows Programming:  Fifth Edition" from a nearby university.  I realize that the book is 14 years old and that there may be better ways code, but, you have to start somewhere.  Petzold is still highly recommended. The book came without its CD, so, I have to type in by hand each of the programs.  No big deal, learning by doing is usually the best teacher in my experience.  (I have also downloaded the SDK for Win 7 from the MicroSoft website for a reference.)

Anyway, I spent about 10 hours typing in the code for a series of .c, .rc, and .h listings that are used to compile and link to a single executable.  (For those curious:  It is the DIBBLE program in the Palette Manager chapter, pages 919 through 994.)  I am using Pelles C, version 6.00, 64-bit, I downloaded last November.  (I thought it was the newer 6.5 version; but, the IDE says it is version 6.)  My system is 64-bit Windows 7.  I compile the project for a WIN32 exe file (not Console).  I get only one error message: C:\<FullPathName>\Dibble.c(234): fatal error #1043: Input Buffer Overflow.

I look at line 234.  It is a macro.  I find it in the relevant .h file and compare it to what is in the book.  As far as I can determine it matches.  I notice that this macro is composed of another previously defined macro.  I check out the previously defined macro and my code listing matches the book.  This leads to yet another macro; but, the point here is that I have looked at all my code listings comparing them to the book and found no difference.