NO

Author Topic: absolute beginners question  (Read 3048 times)

Offline kaffepause

absolute beginners question
« on: December 27, 2020, 09:54:58 PM »
Hey! I've decided to get into programming, and i'm using a book called "C Programming - absolute beginners guide" to walk me through it, but my knowledge of programming is currently below the very basics. what i currently know is that i use an IDE to write source code, and use a compiler to run the code as a program and that's basically it, and that's why i found Pelles, because it says it is both an IDE and a compiler? I also have the latest Codeblocks installed because i figured i'd run everything i do twice to help hammering everything in, and not being dependant on one system.

However, i've just written my very first piece of code, but i've already run into a technical problem; i can't seem to figure out how to compile it in neither Pelles or in codeblocks as i don't understand how exactly i compile the script.

what i've written until now is this:

/* prints a message on the sceen*/
#include <stdio.h>
main ()
{
    printf ("this is my first")
    printf ("program! \n")
    return 0;

}

I don't know if this is correct, but from my limited understanding it seems to be correct, so my question is as follows: how exactly do i compile this in Pelles compiler? everything under the "project" button is just greyed out so i'm assuming i'm missing some basic info about how all of this works.
In Codeblocks there is a "debugging" button and a "run" button, but nothing happens when i click them

I know it might be a stretch asking about a different ide\compiler here, so please disregard codeblocks if necessary, i'll find out about that another place.

thanks a lot!
« Last Edit: December 27, 2020, 09:56:29 PM by kaffepause »

Offline MrBcx

• Global Moderator
    • Bcx Basic to C/C++ Translator
Re: absolute beginners question
« Reply #1 on: December 28, 2020, 12:22:48 AM »
Here is my advice.