NO

Author Topic: Pelles C versus Code::Blocks  (Read 25491 times)

wallep

Pelles C versus Code::Blocks
« on: October 18, 2012, 02:54:13 AM »
Hi Members,

I am new to programming.  I have decided to learn the C language and then C++. My primary focus at this point is C.

I would like to utilize an IDE. I see two IDE's that have very good support. They are Pelles C and Code::Blocks.

Pelles C is a lite download. Only about 10 MB or so and has a great forum. Code::Blocks is a 70 MB download and has C++ as well.  Also availability for GUI programming in C++.

I'm primarily using a web site called www.cprogramming.com as a learning source as they offer many tutorials. They recommend Code::Blocks as a their IDE but I'm sure Pelles C would work as well.

Can anyone suggest which one. I understand they are both very good.

Thank you

CommonTater

Re: Pelles C versus Code::Blocks
« Reply #1 on: October 18, 2012, 05:31:09 AM »
Hi Wallep...
I've been using Pelles C for 8 years now.  I've was also a regular on cprogramming.com for a couple of years. 

So, here's how I see things...

First of all the tutorials on CProg are way too brief to be of much value as a learning tool.  They are meant as quick introductions for people who are picking up C after working in something like Java or Basic... they are not enough to properly learn the language and certainly not enough to give you a solid base in programming concepts. For that you need something far more extensive; a good book or at least an extensive online tutorial.  I generally recommend starting off with "Teach Yourself C Programming in 21 days" for a good general base, then you should follow up with Kernahan and Richie's "The C Programming language" for a more indepth understanding. Yes it means spending a bit of money... but it is well worth the money to do this right.

As for the best learning strategy... give THIS a read.